The Vietnam War: An Intimate History

34094080

I received a free Kindle copy of The Vietnam War: An Intimate HistoryThe Vietnam War: An Intimate History by Geoffrey C. Ward and Ken Burns courtesy of Net Galley and Knopf DoubledayKnopf Doubleday,  the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review to Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and my history book review blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book as I have a deep interest in the Vietnam War. I have read a number of books by the authors.

This is an interesting book in that it starts prior to the United States involvement in Vietnam covering the years as a colony of France, it’s attempt at freedom at that time, the background on the major players and the eventual victory by North Vietnam in reuniting the country.

What I found most appealling was the number of individual interviews that gave a first person perspective to the history. It also contains numerous photographs which help bring into perspective what was happening, especially for those who did not live through those years.

I strongly recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the Vietnam War. You will not be disappointed.

 

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Congress, Presidents, Vietnam War, World History and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

