The Education of a Coroner

35269428

I received a free Kindle copy of The Education of a Coroner by John Bateson courtesy of Net Galley and Scribner,  the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review to Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and my history book review blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book as the description sounded very interesting. It is the first book by John Bateson that I have read.

I had high hopes for this book, but found that it was somewhat disappointing in that it was more a series of events not in any particular order and it became somewhat preachy with the author’s opinions in the last few chapters. While the cases were interesting, there was a great deal more detail that could have been included with each one. The author’s writing style makes for a quick read, but not as engaging as it could be.

Kenneth Holmes, the coroner, served many years in the different positions in the Marin County Coroner’s Office. He is protrayed as a steady empathic individual who rarely gave up on a case even years later.

I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a light read about a coroner and how he developed over his years in the position.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Biographies, Crime, Discovery, NetGalley and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

