The Great Quake

33100392

I received a free Kindle copy of The Great Quake by Henry Fountain courtesy of Net Galley and Crown Publishing, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review to Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and my history book review blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book as I am have an avid interest in earth science and plate tectonics. This is the first book about the Alaskan Earthquake of 1964 that I have read. It is the first book by Henry Fountain that I have read.

I found this to be a very interesting book. It is well researched and well written. The first half of the book lays the groundwork for the earthquake with a discussion of the history of continental drift and plate tectonics and the small villages along the coast of Alaska that were severely damaged or in some cases wiped out by the tsunami that followed.

The second half of the book deals with the events that took place and the aftermath. The focus is on a few villages and individuals. The author does a very good job of bringing the human tragedy into the events that took place. Families and whole villages uprooted, decimated by loss and then eventually recovering.

I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in plate tectonics, earthquakes and Alaska.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Discovery, Native Americans, NetGalley, The West and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

