Electric October

33898871

I received a free Kindle copy of Electric October by Kevin Cook courtesy of Net Galley and Henry Holt & Company, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review to Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and my history book review blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book as I am an avid New York Yankees fan and I have read numerous books about them. It is the first book by Kevin Cook that I have read.

This is a very engaging book that addresses the roles that six individuals played in the 1947 World Series between the New York Yankees and the Brooklyn  Dodgers. They were players Bill Bevens, Al Gionfriddo, Cookie Lavagetto, Snuffy Stirnweiss, and managers Bucky Harris and Burt Shotton. Cook follows their careers, some of which were long term in baseball and some that were not. Bevens, Gionfriddo and Lavagetto were remembered for a single play that followed them the rest of their lives. This is one of the best baseball books that I have read in that the focus was not on the stars, but on those who had a brief moment in the sun.

I strongly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of baseball and the New York Yankees and the Brooklyn Dodgers.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Baseball, Biographies, NetGalley, New York Yankees and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

