Hannibal

32930409

I received a free Kindle copy of Hannibal by Patrick N. Hunt courtesy of Net Galley and Simon & Schuster, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review to Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and my history book review blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book as I heard a great deal about Hannibal Barca and saw the movie from several years ago, but had not really read anything about him. It is the first book by Patrick N. Hunt that I have read.

This book is well researched and written. My limited exposure to Hannibal revolved around his getting battle Elephants over the Alps and into Italy as part of invasion. As it turns out, this was a great achievement, but the elephants did not really play that big a role in the subsequent years and battles.

Hannibal was a great military strategist who continually won battles against superior numbers, but over a period of years the lack of support from his home country eventually led to his downfall. After semi-retiring, he ended up taking his own life instead of being arrested and put on trial as a result of Romans seeking revenge. The author does a good job of presenting the facts in chronological order and with great detail.

I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in learning more about Hannibal Barca.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Biographies, NetGalley, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

