MacAuthur’s Spies

32879702

I received a free Kindle copy of MacArthur’s Spies by Peter Isner courtesy of Net Galley and Penguin Group Viking, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review to Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and my history book review blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book as I have read a great deal about World War II and the description presented something that I had not read about.  This is the first book by Peter Eisner that I have read.

While the premise of the book, The Soldier, the Singer and the Spymaster Who Defied the Japanese In World War II, is  interesting, the author’s writing style leaves something to be desired. The book tends to be herky jerky with abrupt endings to chapters and no smooth transition from one subject to the next. The content is good, although it gets a little tedious at times in exhaustive detail that adds little to the story.

My prejudice is that I have read other books dealing with World War II where the author’s style makes it very engaging and the book progresses like a piece of fiction versus a somewhat dry recitation of facts.

I recommend this book to anyone with an interest in World War II and especially what occured in the Philipines, but be ready for a challenging read.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Biographies, NetGalley, Uncategorized, World War II and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

