Killers of the Flower Moon

29496076

I received a free Kindle copy of Killers of the Flower Moon by David Grann courtesy of Net Galley and Doubleday, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review of the book on Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and my history book review blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book as I have an interest in Native American history and culture. It is the first book by David Grann I have read.

This book is well researched and written. It reads more like a novel or historical fiction (which it is from time to time in order to connect the dots).  The author weaves the story of the Osage Tribe in Oklahoma whose reservation ended up being on top of a vast oil field, the manipulations that local non-native americans took to control and gain access to the money that was supposed to go to tribe members, and how the Federal Bureau of Investigation was formed in order to solve the cases of many early deaths of tribe members. I won’t go into great detail as that gives away many of the intriguing parts of the book and it is something that I do not particularly like in a book review.

This book dealt with specific murders associated with a single family, but the author at the end paints a picture that it was going on long before this family was involved and long after.

I recommend this book for anyone who has an interest in Native American History, the Osage tribe or the early development of the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Biographies, Crime, Native Americans, NetGalley, The West and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

