Casey Stengel: Baseball’s Greatest Character

34514716

I chose to read this book because I am a lifelong fan of the New York Yankees, but this is the biography of Casey Stengel that I have read. I have read a few other books related to New York Yankee players by the author (Munson and Pinstripe Empire).

I have read about Stengel as a part of several other books about the Yankees and Yankee players, but they only touched on the surface of this amazing character. Many of the facts revealed in the book I was already aware of through other books and watching numerous Yankee games. But this book put it all in chronological order and revealed a number of facts and stories that I was not aware of or had heard.

The debate as to how good his managerial skills were will go on forever. This is due to his mananging teams with little or no real talent and teams that were the most talented in baseball at that time giving the appearance that almost anyone could have guided them to pennants and world series victories. But there is no doubt that he is one of the great characters in the history of the game. Partly due to his courting of “his writers” along with antics on the field as a player and a manager.

I heartily recommend this book to fans of the baseball and in particular the New York Yankees especially if you have not read any other biographies on Casey Stenge.

I received a free Kindle copy of this book from Net Galley and Doubleday, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review on Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon and my history book review blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google Plus pages.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Baseball, Biographies, NetGalley, New York Yankees and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

