The World Remade: America in World War I

32195116

I received a free Kindle copy of this book courtesy of Net Galley and Random House Publishing Group – Ballentine, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would write a review and post it to Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon and my history book review blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google Plus accounts.

I requested this book as I have a keen interest in american history and the presidents. This is the first book by G. J. Meyer that I have read.

First, the book is well researched and written. It provides an overview of the United States involvement in World War I and the aftermath centering around President Woodrow Wilson. I have read a number of books on the subject and in almost all they either overlook President Wilson’s flaws or overly focus on them. The author in his introduction stresses that his work is nonjudgemental, but then throughout the book focuses on the perceived flaws of Wilson.

If you have read a number of books on World War I you will not find anything new or enlightening in this book. I do recommend it to those who have not read about the subject and are looking for a good overview.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Biographies, Congress, NetGalley, Presidents, World History, World War I and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

