Ice: The Epic Hunt For the Lost Franklin Expedition

32614409

I received a free Kindle copy of the book courtesy of Net Galley and W. W. Norton & Company – the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review on Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon and my history book review blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google Plus pages.

I rquested this book as I am interested in history and the description sounded interesting to me. It is the first book by Paul Watson that I have read.

This is a book that is well researched and written. It goes into great detail about the expedition itself and the numerous attempts over the years to find Sir John Franklin and his expedition. It also focuses on Lady Jane Franklin’s efforts to keep the searches alive to bring some form of resolution to the expedition. The one weakness in the book is the lack of maps and pictures. While there were some in the book, there should be many more that could have been used to add to the narrative.

I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in exploration, lost expeditions or the arctic.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Biographies, Discovery, Exploration, NetGalley and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

