34094462

I received a free Kindle copy of this book courtesy of Net Galley and Rowan & Litttlefield, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would write a review and post it on Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon and my history book blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google Plus pages.

I requested a copy of this book because I am a fan of baseball, the New York Yankees in particular, and the focus of the book appealed to my interest in the game. It is the first book by Joe Cox that I have read.

This book is about the 16 pitchers who came tantilizing close to one of the holy grails of baseball – the perfect game. 27 batters and 27 outs with no one reaching base. The author has done his research and produced a well written and interesting read on the subject. He brings to life the events of the game and what happened to the pitchers afterwards.

I have a personal bias in that I believe that Harvey Haddix should be credited with a perfect game as he pitched 12 perfect innings before losing in the 13th. That is an unheard of accomplishment in the modern era of baseball where a starting pitcher rarely goes beyond 6 or 7 innings.

I recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of baseball and is looking for an enjoyable read about those who came close to perfection.

 

 

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Baseball, Blogging for Books, NetGalley and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

