Al Capone: His Life, Legacy and Legend

28814723

I received a free Kindle copy of this book courtesy of Net Galley and Doubleday, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would write a review and post it to Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon and my history book review site. I also posted it to my Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book as I have an interest in american history including the prohibition era and Al Capone was one of the central , if not the central, character of those times. This is the first book by Deirdre Bair that I have read.

The author does an excellent job of separating the actual from the myth surrounding Capone. She is also straight forward on those that are murky and cannot be proven one way or the other. The book is based on excellent reserch including several interviews with descendants of Capone from what they remember as children or family stories that were relayed to them.

She clearly delineated between Capone the Organization Chief with a short fuse who became overconfident over time and Capone the family man and humanitarian. It is an absorbing read which makes it hard to put down.

I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the life of Al Capone. You will not be disappointed.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Crime, Leadership, NetGalley and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

