Worst. President. Ever.

25614219

I received a free Kindle copy of this book courtesy of Net Galley and Littlefield Rowan, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review on Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon and my review blog. I also posted it on my Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book as I am an avid reader about American History and presidential biographies in particular. This is the first book by Robert Strauss that I have read.

While well written and researched, this book is definitely a different style of biography. It is not only a biography of James Buchanan (a little on the light side), but also contains passages comparing him with other Presidents  and why he is the worst President ever. In addition, it contains a number of references to the author and his family. After a while I found myself skipping over the “family sections” to get to the what I considered the primary subject of the book.

After reading this biography/comparison, I will be searching for a more complete biography of Buchanan of which there are a few that Strauss often refers to in order to gain an overall better understanding of Buchanan.

I recommend this biography for anyone who is interested in a lighter read on James Buchanan’s life along with a running commentary by the author about trips with his family.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Biographies, Leadership, NetGalley, Presidents and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

