The General vs. The President

29918591

I received a free Kindle copy of this book courtesy of Net Galley and Doubleday, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would write a review and post it on Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon and my blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book because I am interested in American History and the Presidents in particular. I also have read several of H. W. Brands books and found them all to be enjoyable.

This book did not disappoint. Like several others of the author that I have read this one was well written and researched. Brands writing style makes history read more like a novel than a dry dissertation of the facts.

The author does a good job of relaying the background for both principal characters that led to the confrontation during the Korean War. On one side is the intelligent, egotistical, self-centered general versus the no nonsense, political president who were tied up in a long distance exchange over what was the best direction to take during the Korean War. They did meet once briefly with Truman flying a significant distance to get a report from a general that was out of touch with what was occurring at the time. Fortunately for both parties, Eisenhower became President and was able to resolve the conflict in Korea.

I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in either of the main characters or the Korean War.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Biographies, Korean War, Leadership, NetGalley, Presidents and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

