American Ulysses: A Life of Ulysses S. Grant

25622736

I received a free Kindle copy of this book courtesy of Net Galley and Random House, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review on Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon and my blog. I also posted it on my Facebook, Twitter and Google Plus pages.

I requested a copy of this book as I am an avid reader of American History and Presidential biographies. This is the first book by Ronald C. White, Jr. that I have read.

I have read a number of biographies about Ulysses Grant and I will state that this is the best one. It is well researched and the author’s writing style makes the book flow and hard to put down. It covers in detail his entire life.

What I most enjoyed about this biography is the time given to Grant’s childhood and young adult life. In many other biographies of him this area is often given short shrift if covered at all.

While he demonstrated strong, compassionate leadership skills, he was loyal to his friends to a fault. This led to issues for him periodically throughout his life.

I would have appreciated a little more detail on the “scandals” that occurred during his administration as the subject was treated somewhat lightly.

I strongly recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in American History and presidential biographies in particular.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Biographies, Civil War, Congress, Exploration, Leadership, Mexican War, Native Americans, NetGalley, Presidents, Reconstruction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

