Terror in the City of Champions

26620372

I received a free Kindle copy of the book courtesy of Net Galley and Rowan Littlefield, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review on Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon and my review blog. I also posted it on my Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google Plus pages.

I requested a copy of this book as I have an keen interest in baseball and the description sounded fascinating. This is the first book by Tom Stanton that I have read.

The subtitle of the book “Murder, Baseball and the Secret Society that shocked depression-era Detroit” is spot on as to the subject of the book. There are brief mentions of the Detroit Lions and the Detroit Red Wings as they also won championships during the mid-1930’s.

The book primarily focuses on two subjects – the Detroit Tigers and the Black Legion. It addresses how the Tigers developed into World Champions for the first time, the relationship of some of the individuals involved with the club and the Black Legion, and the Black Legion itself. I will not spoil the book for those who have not read it, but I will say the the Black Legion gave the Ku Klux Klan a run for their money as to who was the most notorious organization at that time.

I recommend this book for anyone who has an interest in baseball and crime.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Baseball, Crime, NetGalley and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

