Jefferson’s America: The President, the Purchase and the Explorers who transformed a nation

18142328

I decided to read this book as I have a keen interest in America history and have read a great deal about Lewis and Clark, but not about many of the other early explorers. This is the first book by Julie Fenster that I have read.

 

This book is very well researched and contains lots of information about the early explorers including Meriweather Lewis, William Clark, Zebulon Peak, Peter Custis, William Dunbar, Thomas Freeman, George Hunter and James Wilkinson.

 

The biggest challenge I had reading the book is the lack of organization on the subjects. I felt like I was reading about one explorer and then was quickly thrown into reading about another explorer with not true segue between the two. It was still an interesting read, but the zigs and zags made it a more difficult read than it needed to be.

 

I was provided with a free copy of this book by Blogging for Books and Crown, the publisher. The expectation is that I will provide a review on Blogging for Books, Goodread, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and my blog. I also copied it to my Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google Plus pages.

 

I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for an overview of the many men that Thomas Jefferson sent out to explore what was then the American West. I would recommend other books that provide more detail on these explorations for those looking for a more in-depth read.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Biographies, Blogging for Books, Discovery, Exploration, Lewis and Clark, Native Americans, Presidents and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

