The War Before Independence: Igniting the American Revolution 1175-1176

26804915

I received a Kindle copy of this book courtesy of Net Galley and Sourcebooks, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would publish a review on Net Galley, Amazon, Goodreads and my blog. I have also posted it on my LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book because I have an interest in the american revolution and I read the first book in this series by Derek Beck – Igniting the American Revolution 1773-1775.

As with the first book this one is well researched and well written. The author has a writing style that makes it more like reading a novel versus a dry recitation of historical facts. This book centers mostly on the events surrounding Boston during the buildup to the Revolutionary War leading to the Battle of Bunker Hill. He also covers other conflicts such as the invasion of Canada and Quebec and the challenges that the early stages of the war presented to George Washington.

I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the events leading up to and including the Revolutionary War. While this functions well as a stand alone piece on early American History, I strongly recommend reading Derek Beck’s first book in the series.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Leadership, NetGalley, Presidents, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

