Washington’s Immortals: The Untold Story of an Elite Regiment – Who Changed the Course of the Revolution

25691315

I received a free Kindle copy of this book courtesy of the publisher (Grove Atlantic) and Net Galley. It was with the understanding that I would write a review and post it on Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon and my review blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book as I am interested in American History and I have read several books about the American Revolution. It is the first book by Patrick K. O’Donnell that I have read.

This is a well researched, written and engaging book. It is one of the better ones that I have read on the subject. The author tells the story of a group of soldiers from Maryland who play an important role throughout the Revolutionary War. They served as the anchor/linchpin unit in many of the major engagements with the British from New York to the Carolinas ending in Yorktown with the surrender of Lord Cornwallis which led the the end of the war. I particularly liked that O’Donnell spent the last chapter revealing what happened to the major players in the unit, who survived the conflict, after the war bringing closure to the book.

I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in American History and in particular the Revolutionary War.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Biographies, Leadership, Presidents, Revolutionary War, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

