The Red Knight of Germany

22611840

I received a kindle version of the book courtesy of Net Galley and the publisher with the expectation that I would write a review that I would share on my blog, Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon, Linked In, Facebook, Twitter and Google Plus.

This is a reprint of a biography of Baron von Richthofen that was written shortly after World War I. It is the first book by Floyd Gibbons that I have read.

This book is engaging and a fairly quick read. What I found most interesting is that the author was able to interview several individuals and had access to Richthofen’s letters due to the time period in which it was written. Gibbons does a good job of describing the “Red Baron’s” life with the major focus of the book being his exploits as the ace of the German Air Force during World War I. He reveals why he flew a red plane, his need for having little trophies made for each verified kill, the struggle to become a elite pilot, etc.

I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in World War I and in particular the exploits of the “Red Baron”.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in NetGalley, Uncategorized, World War I and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

