Gold! The Story of the 1848 Gold Rush and How It Shaped a Nation

Gold

I received a prepublication copy of this book (November 17, 2015) through NetGalley with the understanding that I would publish are review on my blog, LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter and Google + pages along with NetGalley, Amazon and Goodreads. This is the e-book release of an earlier publication.

I requested this book because I am an avid reader about American history including the west. This is the first book by Fred Rosen that I have read.

This was a quick and interesting read. I learned a number of things about the California Gold Rush that I was not previously aware of. The author did a good job of tying it into the development of California, but was a little lax on tying it in to the development of the United States.

He also had a penchant for wandering away from the subject which, while interesting, did not add to the narrative. At the end of the book he digresses into very brief overviews of the Black Hills gold rush and the Nevada silver rush. Neither tied into the main theme of the book and read like last minute filler material.

Overall I would recommend this book to someone interested in learning more about the California Gold Rush only in that it is a quick read.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Exploration, NetGalley and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

