Sinatra: The Chairman

Sinatra

I received a prepublication copy of this book (October 27, 2015) through NetGalley with the understanding that I would publish are review on my blog, LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter and Google + pages along with NetGalley, Amazon and Goodreads.

I requested this book because I am have long enjoyed listening to his music. This is the first biography about him that I have read and also the first book by James Kaplan that I have read.

This book covers the second half of Frank Sinatra’s life starting right after he received the Best Supporting Actor Oscar for “From Here to Eternity”. The author focuses primarily on the late 50’s,  60’s and the early 70’s. The last two decades of his life are given a once over lightly in a few chapters.

The book is an interesting read primarily because I have not read any others about Sinatra. The writing style is alright, but the author does tend to be repetitive at times especially when describing individuals or events more than once. He does cover the man – warts and all. He also does not declare some “facts” to be true as other authors have (primarily Kitty Kelly) due to them being hearsay or the fact that there are conflicting stories told about the event.

I most enjoyed the detail given to the events surrounding his recording sessions in the late 50’s and early 60’s. It gave me a new appreciation to the songs as I listened to them while reading the book.

I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in learning more about the last half of Frank Sinatra’s life.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Biographies, NetGalley and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

