Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania

Dead Wake

I read this book because I have enjoyed reading the other ones by Erik Larson and this one did not disappoint. Like all of his others it is well researched and his writing style makes it easy to read without getting bogged down in minutiae that will often happen in books of this type.

This is the first book that I have read on the sinking of the Lusitania and found it interesting in how a series of errors (or possibly some intended non-communication to bring the United States into World War I) let to its demise. Also, the fact that the number of people who lost their lives in the tragedy could have been much lower due to the errors.

I recommend this book for anyone with an interest in the history of the Lusitania or the events that led to the United States entering World War I.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in World War I and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

