Napoleon: A Life

Napoleon: A Life

 

I received a prerelease e-copy of this book through NetGalley (publication date November 2, 2014) with the expectation that I will post a review on their site and others (my blog, Goodreads, Facebook, Google +, LinkedIn, Twitter, Amazon, etc.).

I requested this book as I have an interest in World History and Napoleon in particular. This is the first book by Andrew Roberts that I have read.

I found this book to be very thorough and well documented. I learned several new facts about his life and how he thought (I have to admit that the last book on Napoleon I read was many years ago).

The challenge for me with this book is  the author’s writing style. I have read several biographies where the author truly made the individual come to life. This did not happen for me with this biography. I felt at times like I was wading through information and not really getting a sense of what the author was trying to get across. It may just me, so others may find it an enjoyable read.

I recommend this to anyone who has an interest in Napoleon, but I would suggest that you preview the book by reading a few chapters first at your local library before commiting to the whole book.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in World History and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

