John Marshall: The Chief Justice Who Saved the Nation

John Marshall

I received a prerelease e-copy of this book through NetGalley (publication date September  30, 2014) with the expectation that I will post a review on their site and others (my blog, Goodreads, Facebook, Google +, LinkedIn, Twitter, Amazon, etc.).

I requested this book as I have an interest in early American history and have not read anything about John Marshall specifically. This is the first book by Harlow Giles Unger that I have read.

The following is my brief synopsis of the book:

  1. John Marshall is a saint that could almost walk on water with no negative characteristics.
  2. Thomas Jefferson is the reincarnation of Lucifer with no redeeming characteristics.
  3. Other major players of that time period fall somewhere in between depending upon the author’s opinon of them.

I admit that I was very disappointed in this book. If I hadn’t committed to writing a review, I would not have finished it. The author is extremely opinonated, frequently overlooks facts to fit his view and has a tendency to wander far afield from the subject of the book.

It is not until the second half of the book that John Marshall surfaces as the main character and then it is frequently given an once over lightly review of the court’s decisions that impacted the future direction of the nation.

If you are interested in a biography of John Marshall, that is thorough and objective, I recommend Jean Edward Smith’s that I have on my to-read list after researching for a good biography after reading this one.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Presidents, Revolutionary War, War of 1812 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

