When Lions Roar: The Churchills and the Kennedys

When Lions Roar

I received a prerelease e-copy of this book through NetGalley (publication date October 28 2014) with the expectation that I will post a review on their site and others (my blog, Good reads, Facebook, Google +, LinkedIn, etc.).

Thomas Maier does an excellent job of telling the story of the relationship between the two families involving multiple generations. It is well written, easy to read and very well documented. He gave greater depth to some of the events surrounding the Kennedys during this time that I have not seen in other narratives about the family (and I have read many of them). It also provided me with greater insight into the Churchills though I must admit that I have not read a great deal about them.

I appreciated that fact that the author went beyond the relationship between Joe Kennedy and Winston Churchill to include the next generation who played pivotal roles during the time period covered in the book.

I also found it interesting into Maier’s insights as to why Randolph Churchill did not develop into a second generation leader as did John, Bobby and Teddy Kennedy. Both sets of sons were fiercely loyal to their fathers in public even when disagreeing with them in private.

I strongly recommend this book for anyone who is interested in learning more about the Churchills and the Kennedys. It will also be of interest to those interested in leadership and leadership development along with those who have a focus on World War II.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Kennedys, Leadership, Presidents, World War II and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

