Thirteen: The Apollo Mission That Failed

Thirteen

 

As a matter of disclosure I was given an e-copy of this book by Henry S. F. Cooper with the understanding that I would post a review on Amazon, Goodreads and my blog site.

I must say that I found this book to be very interesting. It was published in 1972 shortly after the events surrounding the “unsuccessful” successful flight of Apollo 13. I have read a number of books on the United States space program through the Apollo missions. These have included “The Right Stuff” by Thomas Wolfe, a number of books by the astronauts themselves and “A Man on the Moon” by Andrew Chaikin.

What I enjoyed about this book in comparison to the others is that the primary focus was on the team on the ground and what they did to help return the crew safely to Earth. All of the other works related to Apollo 13 that I have read have focused on the crew with some reference to the teams on the ground. The author draws you into the pressure and tension that the rotating shifts in the command center experienced throughout the crisis in an engaging fashion that made it hard for me to put the book down (or turn off my Kindle off in my case). The debates over what to do, who had priority and how decisions were made was fascinating.

I strongly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the space program. It is a fairly quick, engrossing read.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Space Exploration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

